Union Territories of India in 2022

General Knowledge

India, a union of states, is a sovereign, socialist, secular and democratic republic with a Parliamentary system of Government. A union territory is a type of administrative division in India which is ruled directly by the Union government (Central Government). Hence, it is called the “union territory”. The President is the constitutional head of the Executive of the Union. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. Union territories of India have special rights and status due to their process of formation and development. The status of “Union Territory” is assigned to an Indian sub-division to safeguard the rights of indigenous cultures, averting political turmoil related to matters of governance, newly inducted into India from a foreign colony and so on.

What are the Union Territories of India?

Union Territories are ruled directly by the Central Government has a Lieutenant Governor as an administrator, who is the representative of the President of India and appointed by the President on the recommendation of Prime Minister. Union Territories have no representation in the Rajya Sabha except Delhi and Puducherry. The Administrator of each Union territory has a functional responsibility independent of his peer Administrators in other Union territories. The Union territories are further sub-divided into smaller administrative blocks for effective governance. Villages form the smallest area of administration. Each village has a representative administrative Gram Panchayat. A Gram Panchayat may have administrative control of a number of villages.

How Many Union Territories in India?

India, a union of states, is a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of Government. The President is the constitutional head of the Executive of the Union. The Union territories are notionally administered by the representative of the Indian President. There are 8 Union territories in India. From the largest to the smallest, each UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc. This section introduces you to the various UTs in the Country and urges you to explore their uniqueness:

Union Territories of India

There are 8 Union territories in India. The list for the same is given below:

1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands

2. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu

3. Chandigarh

4. Lakshadweep

5. Puducherry

6. Delhi

7. Ladakh

8. Jammu and Kashmir