State Animals for all States/ Union Territories, State-wise Full List

General Knowledge

State-wise Animal Names in India

Every state has its state animal as a symbol of a particular state. India has a national animal i.e. Tiger and its scientific name is Panthera tigris. The Indian Tiger is the symbol of grace, strength, agility, and enormous power. Many animals live in flora and fauna according to weather and climate conditions. In many states killing of state animals and distinct animals is banned. If you kill these state or distinct animals then the Indian Government can impose fines or can take strict action against you.

List of State Animals in India

Most of the State Animals are chosen in terms of their availability in a particular state. Recently Ladakh Union territory declared snow leopard as its state animal. These state animals are most Important from an exam perspective, easy to learn, and can give an edge over others if you mark the correct answers. Go through the entire list and learn the state animal names –

State Name and their State Animals

The list of all Indian States and their State Animals is given below.

State NamesState Animal Name
Andhra PradeshBlackbuck
Arunachal PradeshMithun
AssamIndian One-horned Rhino
ChhattisgarhWild Buffalo
GujaratAsiatic Lion
Himachal PradeshSnow Leopard
Madhya PradeshSwamp Deer (Barasingha)
MaharashtraGiant Squirrel
MeghalayaClouded Leopard
OdishaSambhar deer
SikkimRed Panda
Tamil NaduNilgiri Tahr
TelanganaSpotted Deer (Jinka)
UttarakhandMusk Deer
Uttar PradeshSwamp Deer (Barasingha)
West BengalFishing cat

Union Territories and their State Animals

The list of all Indian Union Territories and their State Animals is given below.

Union Territories NamesState Animal Name
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsDugong
ChandigarhIndian grey mongoose
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
Jammu and KashmirKashmir stag
LadakhSnow Leopard
LakshadweepButterfly Fish
Puducherry Indian palm squirrel